Sigma Theta Tau International (STTI) Membership 

Saint Luke's College students are considered for STTI Honor Society membership after they have:

  • completed their first two semesters of their program;
  • demonstrate academic excellence, and
  • demonstrate leadership potential.

Nurse leaders are considered for STTI Honor Society membership after they have:

  • completed their bachelor’s degree in nursing;
  • hold a nursing license, and
  • demonstrate achievement in nursing.

Saint Luke's College Honor Society History

The Honor Society was founded in 2009 and is dedicated to the development of intellectual curiosity and inquiry and providing students with opportunities to acquire new knowledge and skills that will equip them to function as educated members of society. 

In the fall of 2017, the College became a member of the Sigma Theta Tau International (STTI) Nursing Honor Society and named Psi Chi Chapter #548.

Members participate in educational offerings throughout the city. The Honor Society collaborates with other Kansas City metropolitan area Honor Society chapters to provide Research Symposiums to the local community. 
The vision of the Honor Society is to contribute to the global community of nurses who lead in using knowledge, scholarship, service, and learning to improve the health of the people of the world.

About STTI

In 1922, six nurses founded STTI at the Indiana University Training School for Nurses, now the Indiana University School of Nursing, in Indianapolis, Ind., USA. The founders chose the name from the Greek words Storgé, Tharsos and Timé meaning “love,” “courage” and “honor.” STTI became incorporated in 1985 as Sigma Theta Tau International Inc., a nonprofit organization with a 501(c)(3) tax status in the United States. The mission of the Honor Society of Nursing, Sigma Theta Tau International is to support the learning, knowledge and professional development of nurses committed to making a difference in health worldwide. For more information go to the Sigma Theta Tau website.

2017-2018 Board Members

Mary Goodrich, MSN, RN, MBA
1987 and 2001 Alumni

Vice President
Melissa Hodges, BSN, RN
2017 Alumni

Instructor Annie Oliver, MSN, RN
2013 and 2017 Alumni

Jessica Staley, BSN, RN
2010 Alumni

Leadership Succession
Julie Lang, BSN, RN
2014 Alumni

Lynne Swant, BSN, RN
2014 Alumni

Faulty Counselor
Associate Professor Vicki Meek, MS, RN, CNE