Honor Society holds its fall induction

On Monday, October 3, 2016, Saint Luke’s College of Health Sciences inducted 50 new members into its Nursing Honor Society. The event took place at the Ewing Marion Kauffman Foundation in Kansas City, Mo.

The College’s Honor Society has over 550 members with a Board comprised of four alumni including President Mary Goodrich, MSN, RN, MBA; Secretary Jessica Staley, BSN, RN; Leadership Succession Chair Julie Lang, BSN, RN; and Governance Chair Lynne Swant, BSN, RN. It also has three faculty members including Treasurer Annie Oliver, MSN, RN, and Vicki Meek, MS, RN, and Kay Luft, MN, RN who serve as Faculty Counselors.

“We are excited about the number of family members and friends that came out to support our students,” said Associate Professor Kay Luft. The event was filled to capacity with over 200 people filling the large venue.

Since spring of 2009, the College has inducted members into the nursing society who are in the top 35 percent of the class, demonstrated leadership qualities, and cultivated relationships with faculty and peers. “The selection process is difficult,” said Associate Professor Vicki Meek, “there are many qualified candidates. We are looking for members who will promote the mission and vision in a way that sustains and grows its impact in our nursing community,” explained Vicki.

The Honor Society is currently working to complete the requirements to become a member of the Sigma Theta Tau International (STTI). “Membership in STTI is significant as it allows our students access to an international group of nurses who promote excellence in nursing leadership and are research innovators,” said Vicki.

Gloria Solis, MSN, RN, MBA, NEA-BL, gave the Keynote address. Gloria is the Chief Nursing Officer at Saint Luke’s East Hospital and a member of STTI. She congratulated the inductees on their membership and encouraged them to take an active part in improving healthcare through research and hard work for future generations.